Recipe Challenge – Mexican Potato Soup.

22 Sep

The recipe challenge is a new series we’re starting on the blog to keep you from getting stuck in a cooking rut.  The idea is for you to make the posted recipe and then report back at our next MomTime meeting or via comments on the blog letting everyone know how it turned out for you, how you tweaked it for your tastes, etc.  If you have a favorite recipe to share with the group, please send it to Miriam.  We hope you enjoy trying some new recipes!

Reports on this week’s recipe are due next Friday, September 16.

Mexican Potato Soup
submitted by Paola

Olive oil
4 potatoes, peeled and diced
shredded Jack cheese (to taste)
1 can green chiles (or fresh green chiles- they are in season right now)
1 small onion
3 fresh tomatoes, diced
1 qt of water
1 can of chicken broth
2 ½ teaspoon of salt
peppper, to taste

Brown potatoes in some olive oil. Add tomatoes and onions, brown. Add water. The water will help deglaze the pot. Optional, add a can of chicken broth. Cook till potatoes are done. Add cheese and chiles to soup. Cook for about 5 more minutes, to heat and melt cheese.

Paola’s notes:
I serve this with fresh bread, flour tortillas, and/or tamles and a green salad. I also make this soup ahead of time on Christmas Eve (red- tomatoes, green- chiles) and leave it in a crockpot so that it is warm when we get back from church.

5 Responses to “Recipe Challenge – Mexican Potato Soup.”

  1. mirmophoto October 17, 2011 at 10:25 AM #

    I made the soup with some modifications too. I mashed the potato separately and then mixed that together with the tomatoes/onions b/c I wanted more of a pureed soup rather than a chunky soup. The only reason I didn’t puree it completely is b/c I find potatoes get a little gummy when pureed, so mashing them was perfect. I also added a little cumin and fresh garlic when sauteeing the onion. It was good! Even little Anjali ate it up!

  2. Paola Ramirez October 5, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    Chris, I love how you modified the recipe…I modify it too to fit our mood. Kathy, I use the small can of green chilis, but it’s totally up to how much heat you like 🙂 For Christmas, I also serve it w/tamales, some fresh bread, green chile (from Sams) for the tamales and other condiments. You can dress the soup up or down.

  3. Kathy Price September 29, 2011 at 4:12 PM #

    I followed the recipe to a tee and it was really good! I wasn’t sure whether to use a small or large can of green chilis. Ended up using a fresh one (Anaheim, I believe), but after chopping it, realized I probably should have roasted and peeled it first! But I just sauteed it in olive oil for a bit before adding and it to soften the skin and it turned out fine. Good flavors! I actually had some frozen tamales, so went with the rec to serve with tamales and green salad – yum!

  4. Chris Campbell September 27, 2011 at 6:41 PM #

    I made this the other night for the family. It was great. I added some chopped pork tenderloin, chili powder and garlic powder. Jon even had seconds and took a little for lunch the next day. I made it in the morning and put it in the slow cooker for the day. Worked great.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe Challenge – Indian Cooking. « Montview MomTime - October 27, 2011

    […] hope you enjoyed Paola’s Mexican soup from last month’s challenge.  Keeping with an ethnic food theme, here is an easy Indian recipe for you to try.  Be sure to […]

Leave a Reply

